The Gentleman

I apologize in advance for the long-windedness of this post but it’s Friday! Grab yourself a cup of coffee and take a break. You deserve it! ūüôā


After a few lousy dates or bad experiences, a girl starts to think all hope is lost. Ok, that’s a little¬†lot dramatic. But I did consider, for a few moments, taking a bit of a break from this whole dating thing. I am planning on going back to school for my masters soon anyway; perfect timing for a break, right?

These thoughts came about after losing a so-called friend, having an awesome connection with the chef and nothing coming of it, and then a past guy coming back, apologizing/saying all the right things, and promptly effing it up again. It can be disheartening.

But fear not, fellow Toronto Singles, there is still hope! I went out with The Gentleman last week.

The stats first so I can paint you a picture: 6’2″, gainfully employed, beard, tattoos, that undercut haircut, and kind of this strange mix of sudo-hipster/super-nerd/metal-head. Apparently have a type….

Side note: I wore a casual dress and heels because, thanks to POF, I knew he was massively tall which meant that I could wear heels and still be way shorter than him.

It was kind of a weird date because beforehand, he was meeting with some old family friend for drinks to talk business and I can only assume it turned into some sort of Mad Men drink-fest because when I showed up at The Drake, the two of them were a little lot tipsy. Not ideal, but kind of hilarious and he came across right away as very sweet, so I stayed.

After a few awkward moments waiting for the friend to leave, we had a drink and then decided to go get food. We hopped in a cab and went to Paese King Street¬†for my favourite pizza, Capicollo. Seriously, just try it. You’re welcome.

By the¬†time we finished up there, it was way past my bedtime and even though he tried to get me to go to¬†Bar Hop for oysters, I managed to convince him we’d do that¬†another time. So we headed home. And by that I mean he walked me all the way to my door, gave me a hug, and turned around and left. It’s not a huge deal, but I for sure make a mental note when guys don’t do this and instead¬†leave me to fend for myself¬†or try to get invited in.

Post date he texted me straight away asking to see me again, and apologizing again for his “state”. We met for tea the following week (I was quite sick) and then he came over another night to meet my dogs and watch some Walking Dead. Three “dates” (the other two were more like hangouts) and not a single move. Impressive.

Then the night before he flew out for work – he is a project manager on a rig in Alberta – I dropped by to say goodbye and finally worked up the nerve to give him a quick kiss. Only, it wasn’t easy to find his mouth behind all that beard. He has a bottom lip but I’m not sure about a top lip.

Again, he texted me immediately, first apologizing for not initiating said kiss but also saying he hadn’t¬†wanted to come across as aggressive. Silly boy. His self deprecating humor is kind of funny, but I kind of want him to take charge a bit more and stop being so apologetic. Maybe that will come.

Anyway, I’ll wrap this up with last night: he arrived in Alberta and is texting me all evening and just as I’m getting to bed, he calls. On the phone.

I’ll leave it at that for now. I won’t see him for another few weeks but if he does something else crazy, like sends me snail mail, I’ll be sure to post about it.

Happy Weekend!

– A

2 thoughts on “The Gentleman

Leave a Reply

